When Protected Mode is enabled on IE11 (which is the default setting), other participants will not be able to see any content that is being shared by the local participant. Instead, they will see a black tile for any shared content.
To overcome this issue, Protected Mode needs to be disabled on IE11.
This can be done in Internet Options -> Security tab -> uncheck Enable Protected Mode.
Note: Browser restart is required for this to take effect